01 July Sat
02 July Sun
03 July Mon
04 July Tue
05 July Wed
06 July Thu
07 July Fri
08 July Sat
09 July Sun
10 July Mon
11 July Tue
12 July Wed
13 July Thu
14 July Fri
15 July Sat
16 July Sun
17 July Mon
18 July Tue
19 July Wed
20 July Thu
21 July Fri
22 July Sat
23 July Sun
24 July Mon
25 July Tue
26 July Wed
27 July Thu
28 July Fri
29 July Sat
30 July Sun
31 July Mon

Exhibition

Find Me

Contemporary Takes on Self-Portrait

June 7th - July 29th 2017

Curator:
Merih Akoğul

Artists: Deniz Açıksöz, Burcu Aksoy, Kezban Arca Batıbeki, Sadık Demiröz, Ahmet Elhan, Ahmet Öner Gezgin, H-art Collective, Gül Ilgaz, Hüseyin Işık, Balkan Naci İslimyeli, Ali Kabaş, Çerkes Karadağ, Yonca Karakaş, Şahin Kaygun, Sıtkı Kösemen, Şükran Moral, Yıldız Moran, Levent Öget, Ferhat Özgür, Aleksi Petridi, Erhan Şermet, Rıza Aydan Turak, Cem Turgay, Muammer Yanmaz

While there are many ways in which human beings may express themselves, art must be one of the most important. The intersection between self and life is where artists produce their works. For an artist taking a self-portrait however, the point of intersection becomes one’s own identity: photographer and subject coalesce into one individual and then part company with the only evidence remaining of this encounter being the work itself. The exhibition showcases works by 23 artists and one collective. In “Find Me”, photographer and photographed, which is to say artist and object, unite in the same frame. The show therefore is one in which artists with different photographic preferences and approaches peer into their inner worlds by pointing their cameras at their own bodies and faces in order to interrogate their worldviews and perceptions in the contexts of philosophy, psychology, sociology, and art and then gather together and interpret what they find through photography.

Please click for exhibiton catalogue.