01 May Mon
02 May Tue
03 May Wed
04 May Thu
05 May Fri
06 May Sat
07 May Sun
08 May Mon
09 May Tue
10 May Wed
11 May Thu
12 May Fri
13 May Sat
14 May Sun
15 May Mon
16 May Tue
17 May Wed
18 May Thu
19 May Fri
20 May Sat
21 May Sun
22 May Mon
23 May Tue
24 May Wed
25 May Thu
26 May Fri
27 May Sat
28 May Sun
29 May Mon
30 May Tue
31 May Wed

Conversation

Marx and the Transformation of Philosophy

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Location :
  • 18/05/2017
  • 18:30
  • Multi-Purpose Hall
click for more
Seminar Series on Philosophy

Türker Armaner

Marx and the Transformation of Philosophy


Marx’s writings on freedom, property, alienation, political economy, bureaucracy, religious forms of existence, market and many other topics until the mid-1800s are among the subjects he examined during his period known as “critical approach”. During this period, Marx also proposed a transformation in the relations of representation and drew a broad framework about the historical position of philosophy. This framework also contained the changing position of “work” in human life due to industrial revolution, and Marx’s critical philosophy emphasized that the philosophical perspective should also take a new position in the nineteenth century.

Türker Armaner was born in 1968 in Istanbul. He received his Bachelor’s degree in philosophy from Hacettepe University, his Master's degree in Philosophy from Boğaziçi University, and his PhD from the Philosophy Department of the University of Paris VIII. He has lectured at various universities, and is a faculty member of the Department of Philosophy at Galatasaray University since 2004. He is the author of Kıyısız (Shoreless), Taş Hücre (Stone Cell) and Dalgakıran (Breakwater) books of short stories, Tahta Saplı Bıçak (Wooden Hilted Knife) and Hüküm (Verdict) novels and the philosophical inquiry titled Tarih ve Temsil (History and Representation).

Event is free. You can take your invitation from Akbank Sanat’s information desk one hour earlier from the event.

Event is limited to 120 participants.