01 March Wed
02 March Thu
03 March Fri
04 March Sat
05 March Sun
06 March Mon
07 March Tue
08 March Wed
09 March Thu
10 March Fri
11 March Sat
12 March Sun
13 March Mon
14 March Tue
15 March Wed
16 March Thu
17 March Fri
18 March Sat
19 March Sun
20 March Mon
21 March Tue
22 March Wed
23 March Thu
24 March Fri
25 March Sat
26 March Sun
27 March Mon
28 March Tue
29 March Wed
30 March Thu
31 March Fri

Akbank Sanat

Trio Ivoire
Trio Ivoire
Trio Ivoire

Hans Lüdemann: Piano, electronics
Aly Keita: balaphon, sanza
Christian Thomé: Drums, percussions

This group is unique - there is no other trio of piano, balaphon and drums. This might be one reason why the music is exceptional and why it can escape many of the clichées of world music and Jazz. Another one is the mixture of three extremely different individuals who share a profound joy of playing and communicating music amongst themselves and with their audience, producing an enormous and inexhaustible positive energy.

Hans Lüdemann is pianist, composer and head of the TRIO IVOIRE. He is considered to be “one of the most original and expressive European pianists“ (Jazz Podium) or simply “one of the great pianists of contemporary Jazz“ (Hessischer Rundfunk) and is receiving the “ECHO Jazz“ award in 2013. Aly Keita, the “magician of the balaphon“ from Ivory Coast/Mali, whose breathtaking virtuosity and energy is hard to match. He and Lüdemann are „soul mates“ who have found each other across cultural boundaries. Drummer Christian Thomé connects the musical worlds with his unique sound on the drums. With his highly individual style, he gives great clarity even to the most complex rhythmic structures and color to simple grooves. The sparsely used electronic colors of Hans Lüdemanns “virtual piano“ expand or contrast the acoustic instruments.

Trio Ivoire is melting personal roots of African, European and Jazz traditions and uniting African balafon with piano, drums and electronics to create a contemporary sound that is without comparison. This has little to do with traditional African music, but a lot with finding artistic expression in a globalized reality. On the search of transporting traditional African instruments into the modern world on one hand, looking for new ways of expression in piano and Jazz music on the other, two worlds are approaching each other that seem far apart. The result is a personal expression of our time.

Adult: 20 TL Student: 10 TL

Ticket
Galeri
Video
  • Date:
  • 08/03/2017
  • Time:
  • 20:00
  • Location:
  • Multi-Purpose Hall