01 June Sun
02 June Mon
03 June Tue
04 June Wed
05 June Thu
06 June Fri
07 June Sat
08 June Sun
09 June Mon
10 June Tue
11 June Wed
12 June Thu
13 June Fri
14 June Sat
15 June Sun
16 June Mon
17 June Tue
18 June Wed
19 June Thu
20 June Fri
21 June Sat
22 June Sun
23 June Mon
24 June Tue
25 June Wed
26 June Thu
27 June Fri
28 June Sat
29 June Sun
30 June Mon

Akbank Sanat

The history of art collecting
The history of art collecting
Places and Concepts of Art Collecting 

Dr. Zoltán Somhegyi (Art Historian, İzmir University)


In the second lecture of the two-session series on the ways of collecting, the focus is on the places of acquiring artworks and on the concepts of building a collection. Why some prefer buying in a gallery, on an art fair or directly from the artist in the studio? Besides these questions, the possible concepts of a collection are also analysed: potential guidelines that can be helpful for both establishing a new art collection and for giving a characteristic profile to an already existing one. What are the advantages and disadvantages of focusing only on a certain period, on a group of artists, on a specific topic or on one medium?

The lecture is in English, and it is the continuation of the one on 24 May, it can be followed without attending the previous one.

No charge for admission


Galeri
Video
  • Date:
  • 21/06/2014
  • Time:
  • 14:30
  • Location:
  • Çağdaş Sanat Atölyesi